CHANGES!

April 13, 2015

So after spending nine months, 2 days 33 min and 16 sec in the same area I have finally been transferred!!!! Just kidding I didn’t know how many days but I did have nine months in one area and now I have been transferred to the area Loma Verde. Apparently the members here are super awesome and work a ton with the missionaries although there are some crazy people. I only had my last companion Elder Accordino a.k.a. Little Acorn for one change or transfer as some call it. This change I have Elder Monson…who is NOT related to President Monson. But he’s super cool and I am looking forward to this change. Other stuff that happened…we had success in bringing some people to Church this weekend but a lot of people, investigators and recent converts moved this week. Something weird in Puerto is that people feel the strange need to migrate. They just leave to go to “the communities” for like months or years at a time and then come back. It’s really weird. In fact, missionaries have been known to have pday, then come back to an investigator or member, only to have their entire house not be there. They literally un-nail all the wood and pack it up…. and take their house somewhere else. I didn’t believe it until it happened when we passed what used to be a small house/shop…that wasn’t there anymore. Other stuff…. the phrase #firstworldproblems gains a whole new meaning when you come here. I saw a little kid sitting on a 3 liter bottle on the concrete/dirt road, using it like a sled while his older brother pulled him with a string…all while wearing loincloths. Besides that still some trouble with Josue and Kati. It was a strange experience packing this morning. I felt sad and yet excited. Having known these people, especially the people in this area for so long, you really grow to love them. I love this people and everybody. I would challenge everybody this week to just be a little kinder, and a little more Christ like. Think of others as your family and friends…because that is who they are. Think of them as the family and friends of Almighty God, for that is who they are. I love you guys so much! Thanks for writing me! I hope you all are ok, and remember what is important in life. Remember why we are here and where we need and want to go. I just want to bare my testimony that I know God is our Heavenly Father who loves us eternally and perfectly and so does Jesus Christ. Jesus is our Savior and I know He loves us and that because of Him we can have peace in this life and eternal, wonderful joy with all of our loved ones in the life to come. I know that this Church is the ONE true Church. It is the ONLY Church headed and directed by Jesus the Christ. I want all of you to know that there in no other way, philosophy, church, religion or anything that will bring you true happiness. Or lasting joy and redemption and the opportunity to allow you to live with our Heavenly Father and our Savior, Eldest Brother Jesus Christ and loved ones. Only this Gospel and this Church. Be happy, stay determined and strong even if times are tough, or if times are good. Remember the needs of those around you! I love you all! -Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

