What’s Air Conditioning?

June 1, 2015

So this week passed by quick and really slow hahaha. After receiving transfers and literally flying from one end of the country to the other, and then missing the last pday I was both physically and mentally exhausted. BUT there is a but…. this week it turned out to be one of the hardest and interesting weeks of the mission. Me and my companion Elder Paniagua are reopening an area and it’s been kind of hard. No records of what has happened in the last six months in the area book, and meeting some of the weirdest and coolest members ever. This is the first time in my mission I have served in a ward. My area Subtiava is HUGE!!!! As in it was 3 other areas but now just one! We have some members that are very cool and really nice. In fact we got in invited 8 times to eat last week! That has never even come close to happening in any other zone of my mission. At the same time this ward is apparently notorious for criticizing each other and spreading gossip, even about the missionaries. But that’s not a huge concern of mine if we just work hard and do what we are supposed to do. It has been heaven and heck at the same time here with being able to eat Burger King for the first time in forever!!! And also being SUPER HOT!!! Leon is the name of the city and has lots of older buildings and is more developed than a lot of other places and has touristic attractions, in fact I saw like 50 American/European people here all going to the beach. There is also a nearby volcano called Momtombo and the missionaries sometimes hike up for activities. Today we just got to know the zone better but this I feel will be a challenging area but also rewarding in the sense that I feel I will learn a lot. Having been in what I think what must be one of the more disobedient missions in the world, I just want to testify of the power of obedience to Heavenly Fathers commandments. Great people are great because they love God and Christ first, and love their brother second. These two greatest commandments include all others especially being obedient. I know that this is the true Church and I know that we need to keep ourselves away in thought, word and deed from everything that even resembles sin and then we can have confidence before God. I love all of you guys and if any of you have recipes, workout suggestions or jokes…they would be appreciated ha-ha. Love Elder Braxton Lawrence

Leave a Reply

