Elder Nelson

August 31, 2015

The visit of President Nelson was awesome! He spoke in English so that was awesome too! I felt like I was in General Conference. He sounds the same but is really tall and has very piercing eyes. When we got to shake his hand and say hi, I felt like I really was in the presence of somebody who was a special witness of the Savior. It strengthened my testimony of the truthfulness of the Restored Gospel and that Heavenly Father has called prophets and Apostles today. He gave a powerful message and delivered it in a way that made me think about my own way of teaching. It wasn’t stiff or formal. It was the friendliest setting I have ever felt apart from the temple and my family. I could feel his love for us and it was very great. I cannot imagine the love our Heavenly Father has for our Savior Jesus Christ or us. He talked about tithing, how if we want people to not be poor we need to pay tithing or otherwise they will be in poverty. He talked about Patriarchal blessings and how it all ties to the Abrahamic covenant and how we are to help others come unto Christ and how it is our duty in the last days. He talked and explained that Heavenly Father just wants his children to return to Him. That is His greatest desire. Why not help others do it? Why not do it ourselves because we are ultimately responsible for our own fate. What do we want? I know that this is the work of the Lord. I know that Heavenly Father can and will help us but especially when we do what is right and we plead with Him for help and recognize his role as our merciful Father and Jesus Christ as His Beloved Son and our Redeemer. I know that only the Church of Jesus Christ is the true Church. Other faiths have good principles but lack the fullness of the Gospel. I know that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God and that the Book of Mormon is the truest book known to man. I know that we can return to our Heavenly Father and Savior Jesus Christ with our families forever and see all of our loved ones and friends there as well. Our Father and Savior will help us.

Leave a Reply

